Skip navigation

UPDATE: I have upgraded to the 2nd Edition of this book.

I have had this book: Computer Systems: A Programmer’s Perspective for two years and I have not read it although I would learn a great deal. Well I am putting aside work on my Music Player Google Chrome extension and my Adobe AIR IRC client to read it and solve the problems and finish the exercises.

I have created a mercurial repository for the exercises on Google Project Hosting. Maybe it will be useful for some else too. A new version of this book is out, but it’s a $90 book and I think I’m fine with what I have, so I’ll just get started with the version I have now.

All the exercises will be in C.

2 Comments

  1. Hmm, that’s an interesting book, even though I’ve never heard of it before. Perhaps tell us a little bit about what it’s about?

    • It’s about how computers work at a very low level as it relates to computer programming. It talks about things such as accessing memory, how computers represent numbers and characters, machine code, improving performance, network programming, etc. Very good book. It’s actually a text book, which is probably why it is so expensive.


22 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. […] Posted in programming by apphackers on February 26, 2010 These are notes from the book I am currently reading. These notes are available at Google […]

  2. […] Posted in programming by apphackers on February 27, 2010 As part of reading this book, I’m writing some exercises. I thought I would benefit from some extra conversion problems. […]

  3. […] Posted in programming by apphackers on February 28, 2010 This solution is for the book I am currently reading. All of my notes and solutions are available at Google […]

  4. […] Posted in programming by apphackers on February 28, 2010 This note is for the book I am currently reading. All of my notes and solutions are available at Google […]

  5. […] Posted in programming by apphackers on February 28, 2010 This solution is for the book I am currently reading. All of my notes and solutions are available at Google […]

  6. By Converting Decimal to Hexadecimal « Apphacker on 28 Feb 2010 at 12:11 pm

    […] Posted in programming by apphackers on February 28, 2010 This note is for the book I am currently reading. All of my notes and solutions are available at Google […]

  7. […] 2.3 solution Posted in coding by apphackers on February 28, 2010 This solution is for the book I am currently reading. All of my notes and solutions are available at Google […]

  8. […] Posted in programming by apphackers on February 28, 2010 This solution is for the book I am currently reading. All of my notes and solutions are available at Google […]

  9. […] 2.5 solution Posted in programming by apphackers on March 1, 2010 This solution is for the book I am currently reading. All of my notes and solutions are available at Google […]

  10. […] 2.6 solution Posted in programming by apphackers on March 1, 2010 This solution is for the book I am currently reading. All of my notes and solutions are available at Google […]

  11. […] 2.8 solution Posted in programming by apphackers on March 1, 2010 This solution is for the book I am currently reading. All of my notes and solutions are available at Google […]

  12. […] 2.9 solution Posted in programming by apphackers on March 1, 2010 This solution is for the book I am currently reading. All of my notes and solutions are available at Google […]

  13. […] 2.10 solution Posted in programming by apphackers on March 2, 2010 This solution is for the book I am currently reading. All of my notes and solutions are available at Google […]

  14. […] 2.11 solution Posted in programming by apphackers on March 2, 2010 This solution is for the book I am currently reading. All of my notes and solutions are available at Google […]

  15. […] 2.13 solution Posted in programming by apphackers on March 2, 2010 This solution is for the book I am currently reading. All of my notes and solutions are available at Google […]

  16. […] 2.14 solution Posted in programming by apphackers on March 2, 2010 This solution is for the book I am currently reading. All of my notes and solutions are available at Google […]

  17. […] 2.15 solution Posted in programming by apphackers on March 3, 2010 This solution is for the book I am currently reading. All of my notes and solutions are available at Google […]

  18. […] 2.16 solution Posted in programming by apphackers on March 3, 2010 This solution is for the book I am currently reading. All of my notes and solutions are available at Google […]

  19. […] 2.17 solution Posted in programming by apphackers on March 3, 2010 This solution is for the book I am currently reading. All of my notes and solutions are available at Google […]

  20. […] 2.18 solution Posted in programming by apphackers on March 4, 2010 This solution is for the book I am currently reading. All of my notes and solutions are available at Google […]

  21. […] 2.19 solution Posted in programming by apphackers on March 4, 2010 This solution is for the book I am currently reading. All of my notes and solutions are available at Google […]

  22. […] been solving problems for Computer Systems: A Programmer’s Perspective, but I was using the first edition. I am now upgrading to the second […]

Leave a Reply

